What is the HK Prize?

hk prize

hk prize is an international competition that gives young people the opportunity to showcase their talent and build a good reputation. It also provides them with cash prizes, travel expenses and other perks. However, there are certain rules that must be followed in order to win the competition. If you’re considering entering the hk prize, make sure to read all of the rules carefully before you submit your application.

The hk prize is a non-governmental merit-based award hosted by the Hong Kong Alliance of Technology and Innovation and sponsored by the Bank of China (Hong Kong) Limited. It recognizes scientific researchers/teams with significant achievements in five fields: artificial intelligence and robotics, life and health, new materials and new energy, advanced manufacturing and FinTech. The award is designed to promote a culture of scientific spirit, encourage exploration and research, and nurture the next generation of scientists who will help Hong Kong become an international innovation and technology hub.

Winners of the hk prize were announced at a ceremony on Friday, December 15. In addition to the main winner, there were two runners-up and five honorable mentions. The winner was Benny Chan, who directed the film Raging Fire. The film received a number of awards, including best action choreography and music. It was also one of the highest earners at the box office that year.

Another winner was Martin M.L. Wong, who is a professor at the Department of Physics and Materials Science at the City University of Hong Kong. His research paper titled “Tropical Cyclone Motion in response to Land Surface Friction” was published in the Journal of the Atmospheric Sciences in 2006. He was awarded the Zhu Kezhen Prize by Society Vice Chairman Dr. K.S. Lam.

The hk prize was also given to the Center for Criminology and the Department of Sociology at the University of Hong Kong for their work in promoting training in crime and deviance studies. These HKU units have been offering undergraduate major/minor and taught postgraduate programmes in the subject. They have also been conducting research on various aspects of crime and deviance and providing criminology consultancy services.

The HK Prize was launched in 2022 by Justice Centre Hong Kong with support from EU Office in Hong Kong and Macao, Goethe-Institut Hong Kong and the Hong Kong Arts Development Council. The theme for the first edition was Our Changing World, and submissions were welcomed from all artistic disciplines to explore the impact of global evolution on our daily lives. An exhibition of selected winning and selected entries is currently on display at the Goethe-Gallery and Black Box Studio, Goethe-Institut Hong Kong. The works are available for sale, with proceeds benefiting the organisation’s refugee protection work. For more information, click here. Free guided tours of the exhibition are available upon registration on a first-come-first-served basis. Click here to register. The exhibition runs until January 14.

HK Prize Winners Announced at Gala Dinner

Awarded to Hong Kong students with outstanding scholarship and achievements in community service and leadership. The HK Prize offers recognition, support and encouragement in their creative work, arts projects or further studies; increased international visibility via top-tier media coverage; and access to an incredible network of potential collaborators.

This year, a new category was introduced to recognise students who are passionate about sustainability and have demonstrated their commitment and leadership through innovative projects. The winner of this award was Jane Poon from Hong Kong International School, who is behind a series of initiatives including DGS Metaverse, which allows pupils to navigate a virtual campus and buy student-made products. She is also a member of the Youth Climate Coalition and an ambassador for Earthwatch Hong Kong.

The 2024 Sovereign Asian Art Prize results were announced at a gala dinner on May 17, with Pakistani artist Sameen Agha taking the Grand Prize for her sculpture A Home Is Terrible Place to Love. Other prizes went to Hong Kong artists Michelle Fung and Demet, who was awarded the Public Vote prize for his PPE, Paint Palette Emulation.

Despite the short cinema release, Hong Kong film Ten Years scooped best picture at this year’s Hong Kong Film Awards, tapping residents’ worst fears for the semi-autonomous city’s future under Beijing’s tightening grip. Director Ng Ka-leung’s vignettes were shot in a range of locations across the city and are believed to have upset Beijing officials.

Former martial arts star Sammo Hung, who received the Lifetime Achievement Award at this year’s Hong Kong Film Awards, started out playing minor, unattractive roles in the 1980s. His perseverance has seen him become one of the most beloved actors in Hong Kong history. Donna Ong’s documentary explores his life and career in this fascinating film that is packed with archive material.

In 2013, the Hong Kong First Feature Film Initiative was founded to spot new directing talent and fund their first films. The films have gone on to achieve success in the local and international markets. Actor Ronald Cheng, who is known for his comedy and flamboyant stage persona, started out in minor roles in the 1970s before rising to prominence as a Cantopop star.

The BOCHK Science and Technology Innovation Prize was established in 2022 to encourage scientific researchers and innovators in Hong Kong to pursue pioneering research, develop their innovative technologies in the city and use them for the benefit of society. It aims to enhance the local scientific and technological atmosphere further, and enable Hong Kong’s research discoveries and innovative applications to be recognized by the Mainland and even the world. The prize is administered by the Board, which consists of a Review Committee, a Compliance Oversight Team and a Secretariat. The Board is responsible for reviewing and interpreting the Charter, suggesting important scientific research fields to be considered, appointing members of the Review Committee and Compliance Oversight Team, and setting requirements for nominating experts. All decisions of the Board are final.